The servitude: a real impact on your rights and obligations as an owner

 

Servitudes are often the source of many questions. They are in effect rights, restrictions or obligations linked to your property. They are often also known as « charges ». Generally, the charges are directly attached to the property and not to its owner. They are created for the benefit, among others, of your or another property, public utilities or person. Most of the time, they are registered in the real estate titles of the property and are maintained notwithstanding its sale.

 

Examples of common servitudes:

  • A passage servitude on the land of a neighbor to access your property;
  • A servitude authorizing an « illegal line of sight » on the neighbor’s property due to a window, deck, etc.;
  • A partial right of use for the passing of electrical wires and their maintenance.

What are the means to set up a servitude?

1
By contract, as in the case of two owners that enter an agreement;
2
By a will to transfer, as an example, a right of use to your relatives;
3
By destination of the owner creating a servitude between different parts of the property;
4
By law, such as the law on public utilities.

Note that no servitude is created by the passage of time, even following the usage over an extended period. To make a servitude official and ensure a real right of use, a notarized servitude is required as well as its posting with the Quebec land registry.

What is the difference between a
real servitude and a personal servitude?

There exist two types of servitudes. The « real servitude » is directly linked to the property. This means that the right of use or the restriction is posted with the Quebec land registry and does not disappear upon the sale of the property. The « personal servitude » grants a right of use to a specific individual. It is generally temporary and vanishes following the sale of the property. It can also be maintained for the lifetime of the beneficiary.

COVID-19 / UPDATE

During the covid-19 health crisis, bessette notaires can meet with you at a distance.

PLEASE NOTE: OUR TELEPHONE LINES ARE CURRENTLY VERY BUSY

You are seeking information on your file?

Do you want to get in touch with the legal assistant assigned to your file?

Use online support and our team will provide relevant information and forward your requests.

ASK A QUESTIONOUR RATES

fbpx

La servitude : un impact réel sur vos droits et obligations de propriétaire

 

Les servitudes sont souvent la source de nombreuses interrogations. En fait, il s’agit de droits, de restrictions ou d’obligations liés à votre propriété. On les appelle aussi des « charges ». Généralement, les charges sont rattachées directement à la propriété et non au propriétaire des lieux. Elles sont créées pour le bénéfice, entre autres, de votre propriété ou d’une autre propriété, d’un service public ou d’une personne. La plupart du temps, elles sont inscrites dans les titres immobiliers de la propriété et sont maintenues même lors de la vente.

 

Quelques exemples fréquents de servitude :

  • Une servitude de passage sur le terrain d’autrui pour accéder à votre propriété.
  • Une servitude autorisant une « vue illégale » sur la propriété d’un voisin causée par la présence d’une fenêtre, d’une terrasse, etc.
  • Un droit d’utilisation partielle pour le passage de fils électriques et leur entretien.

Quels sont les différents moyens pour établir une servitude?

1
Par contrat, comme dans le cas de deux propriétaires qui prennent une entente.
2
Par testament, par exemple pour transférer un droit d'usage à vos proches.
3
Par destination du propriétaire créant ainsi une servitude entre différentes propriétés d'une même personne.
4
Par un texte de loi, telle la Loi concernant les services publics.

Notez qu’aucune servitude ne s’acquiert par le passage du temps, même dans le cas d’un usage prolongé. Pour officialiser une servitude et vous assurer que le droit est réellement acquis, un acte de servitude notarié est requis ainsi que sa publication au Registre foncier du Québec.

Quelle est la différence entre une servitude
réelle et une servitude personnelle?

Il existe deux types de servitude. La « servitude réelle » est attribuée directement à la propriété. Cela signifie que le droit acquis ou la restriction est publié au Registre foncier du Québec et ne disparaît pas lorsque la propriété est vendue. Quant à la « servitude personnelle », elle consent un droit d’usage à une personne en particulier. Généralement, elle est temporaire et disparaît lorsque la propriété est vendue. Elle peut aussi être maintenue pour toute la vie du bénéficiaire.